Posted on

Music theory exam dates, UK

Music theory exam dates in the UK, 2017.

ABRSM and Trinity College London music theory exam dates

ABRSM is an acronym for ‘Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music’. ABRSM music theory exams take place in 93 different countries around the world. In the UK they take place times a year in the Spring, Summer and Autumn (known as periods A, B and C).

A) Spring 2017 Music theory exam date: Wednesday 1st March (5 pm). Closing date for online entries: Friday 20th January. Closing date for postal entries: Friday 13th January.

B) Summer 2016 Music theory exam date: Saturday 17th June (10.00am). Closing date for online entries: Friday 12th May. Closing date for postal entries: Friday 5th April.

C) Autumn 2016 Music theory exam date: Tuesday 7th November (5 pm). Closing date for online entries: Friday 29th September. Closing date for postal entries: Friday 22rd September.

Trinity College London provide exams and award qualifications in over 60 countries around the world. The music theory exam dates are as follows:

Saturday 6th May 2016 (closing date Monday 27th March)
Monday 8th May 2016 (closing date Monday 27th March)
Saturday 4th November 2016 (closing date Monday 25th September)
Monday 6th November 2016 (closing date Monday 25th September)

How to enter an exam. You can enter yourself for a theory exam if you are age eighteen years or older. Alternatively candidates may be entered for an exam by a school, a teacher of music, a parent or guardian. Anyone who enters receives a unique applicant number. For details about ABRSM exam centres in your area speak to your local ABRSM representative  or Trinity Guildhall representative . Apply for entrance online using the ABRSM or Trinity Guildhall websites (or you can request a postal application form).

Accreditation. Both Associated Board and Trinity qualifications provide qualifications recognized by government educational authorities worldwide. A pass at Grade 5 (music theory) enables students to proceed to Grade 6-8 exams which can contribute towards higher education through the allocation of UCAS (University and Colleges Admission Service). UCAS points which can be used as part of a university or college application in the UK.

Please bookmark our site or join us on twitter to receive updates about forthcoming music theory exams. Feel free to ask the author any last minute questions you may have.

We are also very keen to hear from students who have used All-In-One to Grade 5 to pass their theory exams (a distinction we trust!).

Leave a Reply